826 Valencia

826 Valencia St San FranciscoCA94110
Closed
Sunday
12:00pm-6:00pm
Monday
12:00pm-6:00pm
Tuesday
12:00pm-6:00pm
Wednesday
12:00pm-6:00pm
Thursday
12:00pm-6:00pm
Friday
12:00pm-6:00pm
Saturday
12:00pm-6:00pm
Payment Methods: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check
Average Rating
4.5
Total Reviews
(51)
Recommended 0
Not Recommended 0
Average Rating Over Time
Map

Open Map

Description

826 Valencia is located at 826 Valencia St, San Francisco, CA. This location is in the Castro neighborhood. This business specializes in Tutoring.
by merchantcircle on August 08, 2015 from merchantcircle

Tips

Know Before You Go: Check out the pleasantly dim aquarium viewing room just inside the door.
by ezlocal on May 15, 2012 from ezlocal
The Extras: Fans of Might, Eggers' pre-McSweeny's magazine, can find back issues for sale here.
by ezlocal on May 15, 2012 from ezlocal

Editorial Reviews

The brainchild of author Dave Eggers is primarily a center established to help kids with their writing skills via tutoring and storytelling events. But the storefront is also "San Francisco's only independent pirate supply store," a quirky space filled with eye patches, spyglasses, and other pirate-themed paraphernalia. Eggers's quarterly journal, McSweeney's, and other publications are...
by fodors on December 02, 2015 from fodors
Captain Hook meets Mr. Rogers at this quirky pirate supply store with a heart.:
In Short
The dark, cozy storefront purports to be a pirate supply shop, but it's a tongue-in-cheek front for the Dave Eggers-funded youth literacy center operating from the back room....
by by Contributor at Citysearch on April 18, 2006 from Citysearch

Information from the business

826 Valencia is dedicated to supporting students ages 6 to 18 with their writing skills, and helping teachers get their students excited about the writing. Our work is based on the understanding that strong writing skills are fundamental to future success and that great leaps in learning can be made when skilled tutors work one-on-one with students.
by localcom on July 21, 2017 from localcom
826 National is a nonprofit tutoring, writing, and publishing organization with locations in eight cities across the country. Our goal is to assist students ages six to eighteen with their writing skills, and to help teachers get their classes excited about writing. Our work is based on the understanding that great leaps in learning can happen with one-on-one attention, and that strong writing...
by cityvoter on May 14, 2016 from cityvoter